Award Year

43 projects by 63 artists were awarded in Emerging Fields, Literature, and Performing Arts for the 2016 cycle of the Creative Capital Award.

Selection Committee

In February 2015, Creative Capital issued an open call for Letters of Inquiry and received around 2,500 applications. Working with more than 100 curators, programmers and other arts professionals from around the country, Creative Capital winnowed the thousands of inquiries down to 763 artists who were invited to submit full proposals. 231 of those proposals moved to the panel review stage, where consultants selected the 46 funded projects.

Emerging Fields
Program Consultants

Jaime Austin, Indendent Curator, San Francisco, CA (formally Curator and Director of Programs, ZERO1 festival)

Regine Basha, Independent Curator, New York, NY

Katherine Milton, Independent Curator/Designer, Minneapolis, MN


Regine Basha, Independent Curator, New York, NY

Julia Christensen, 2013 Emerging Fields Awardee, Oberlin, OH

Malik Gaines, 2012 Visual Arts Awardee, New York, NY

Chrisstina Hamilton, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI

Lindsay Howard, Independent Curator, New York, NY

Marina McDougall, Exploratorium, San Francisco, CA

Jack Stenner, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL


Sarah Brin, Autodesk Pier 9 Workshop, San Francisco, CA

Amy Heibel, Art/Tech Lab at LACMA, Los Angeles, CA

Jess Van Nostrand, MoMA, New York, NY

Christina Vassallo, SPACES Gallery, Cleveland, OH

Stephen Vitiello, 2006 Emerging Fields Awardee, Richmond, VA

James Voorhies, Carpenter Center for Visual Arts, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

Mimi Young, Behavior Design, New York, NY


Joseph del Pesco, Kadist Foundation, San Francisco, CA

Murray Horne, Wood Street Galleries, Pittsburgh, PA

Zachary Kaplan, Rhizome/New Museum, New York, NY

Sara Krajewski, INOVA, UW Milwaukee, Milwaukee, WI

Josette Melchor, Gray Matter, San Francisco, CA

Andrea Mellard, The Contemporary, Austin, TX

Sabrina Raaf, 2002 Emerging Fields Awardee, Chicago, IL

Roddy Schrock, Eyebeam, New York, NY

Leila Tamari, ArtPlace, New York, NY

Program Consultants

Andrew Lelland, The Believer, Columbia, MO

Lisa Lucas, Guernica, New York, NY

Ethan Nosowsky, Graywolf Press, Oakland, CA


Peter Blackstock, Grove/Atlantic, New York, NY

Mónica de la Torre, BOMB Magazine, New York, NY

Ethan Nosowsky, Graywolf Press, Oakland, CA

Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts, 2013 Literature Awardee, New York, NY

Don Share, Poetry Foundation, Chicago, IL


Peter Blackstock, Grove/Atlantic, New York, NY

Callie Collins, A Strange Object, Austin, TX

Brigid Hughes, A Public Space, Brooklyn, NY

Ange Mlinko, The Nation, Gainesville, FL

Minna Proctor, The Literary Review, Madison, NJ


Stephen Burt, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA

Brent Cunningham, Small Press Distribution, Berkeley, CA

Deena Drewis, Nouvella, Los Angeles, CA

Rhonda Hughes, Hawthorne Books, Portland, OR

Mark Krotov, Melville House, Brooklyn, NY

Eric Lorberer, Rain Taxi, Minneapolis, MN

Michael Miller, Bookforum, New York, NY

Performing Arts
Program Consultants

Emil Kang, UNC Chapel Hill, Chapel Hill, NC

Mark Valdez, Network of Ensemble Theaters, Los Angeles, CA

Kim Whitener, HERE Arts Center, New York, NY


Ron Berry, Fusebox Festival, Austin, TX

Yolanda Cesta Cursach, MCA Chicago, Chicago, IL

Daniel Alexander Jones, 2000 Performing Arts Awardee, Bronx, NY

Miwa Matreyek, 2013 Performing Arts Awardee, Los Angeles, CA

Michael Reed, Arizona State University, Tempe, AZ

Kim Whitener, HERE Arts Center, New York, NY


Shoshona Currier, Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, Chicago, IL

Margaret Lawrence, Hopkins Center at Dartmouth, NH

Ross Marshall, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Brooklyn, NY

David Ortolano, Boulder International Fringe Festival, Boulder, CO

Lauren Pratt, REDCAT, Los Angeles, CA

Roell Schmidt, Links Hall, Chicago, IL

Lauren Snelling, OZ, Nashville, TN

Clyde Valentin, SMU, Dallas, TX


Dena Beard, The Lab, New York, NY

Steven Bridges, MCA Chicago/Rapid Pulse Performing Arts Festival, Chicago, IL

Anna Drozdowski, Independent Curator, Philadelphia, PA

Adrienne Edwards, Perfoma, New York, NY

Adam Fristoe, Out of Hand Theater, Atlanta, GA

Benjamin Kimitch, Park Avenue Armory, New York, NY (currently at PS122)

Joshua Kohl, 2013 Performing Arts Awardee

Tonya Lockyer, Velocity Dance Center, Seattle, WA

Matthew Lyons, The Kitchen, New York, NY

Carla Peterson, Maggie Allesee National Center for Choreography at FSU, Tallahassee, FL

Rachel Silverman, New York Theatre Workshop, New York, NY

Miriam Weisfeld, Woolly Mammoth, Washington, DC (currently at The Acara Group, NY)

Miranda Wright, Los Angeles Performance Projects, Los Angeles, CA