Announcing the 2020 Arts Writers Grants

The Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant is pleased to announce its 2020 grantees. The program supports writing about contemporary art and aims to ensure that critical writing remains a valued mode of engaging the visual arts.

In its 2020 cycle, the Arts Writers Grant has awarded a total of $675,000 to 22 writers. Ranging from $15,000 to $50,000 in three categories—articles, books and short-form writing—these grants support projects addressing both general and specialized art audiences, from short reviews for magazines and newspapers to in-depth scholarly studies.

“Today’s politically charged moment is palpable in the work of the writers selected to receive grants this year.” —Pradeep Dalal, Program Director

See the 2020 Arts Writers Grants

The Andy Warhol Foundation Arts Writers Grant was founded in recognition of both the financially precarious situation of arts writers and their indispensable contribution to a vital artistic culture. The program is administered by Creative Capital.

Angie Baecker—“The Art Group and the Avant Garde: Collective Practices and the Socialist Legacy in Contemporary China”
Cecilia Fajardo-Hill—“Patssi Valdez: ‘I dare you question me,’ A Radical Photographic Portraiture”
Erica Moiah James—“Juan Francisco Elso: La luz de las cosas / The Light of Things”
Arnold Joseph Kemp—“Who is this black, queer curator? If you don’t remember it and do him, his last name is McShine”
Oluremi C. Onabanjo—“The Conditions of the Archive: Marilyn Nance and FESTAC 77″

Sergio Delgado MoyaA Nervous Archive: Sensationalism and the Potency of Horror
Ariel Goldberg—Just Captions: Ethics of Trans and Queer Image Cultures
Naeem Mohaiemen & Anjali SinghHarmit Singh’s War
Jerry PhilogeneThe Socially Dead and Improbably Citizen: Visualizing Haitian Liberation
Jeannine TangLiving Legends: The Art and Care of Queer and Transgender History
Joseph L. UnderwoodForging a New Contemporary: Art from Senegal in Transnational Networks, 1974-1984

Short-Form Writing
Ratik Asokan
Jessica Baran
Barbara Calderón
Dan Fox
Bean Gilsdorf
Colony Little
Jessica Lynne
Lauren O’Neill-Butler
Amy Taubin
Monica Uszerowicz


More News & Stories