Announcing the 2022 Creative Capital Awards

2022 Creative Capital Awards
New York, NY (January 12, 2022) — Creative Capital today named 50 new Creative Capital Awards for 2022. The grants will fund the creation of innovative new artists’ projects by 59 individual artists working in the performing arts, visual arts, film, technology, literature, and socially engaged and multidisciplinary practices. Each project will receive varying amounts up to $50,000 in direct funding, supplemented by career development and networking services to foster thriving artistic careers totaling up to $2.5 million in artist support.

See the 2022 Creative Capital Awards.

“Creative Capital believes that funding the creation of new work by groundbreaking artists is vital to the vibrancy of our culture, society, and our democracy. We are dedicated to supporting artists who are pushing boundaries and asking challenging questions—especially now when new ideas are critical to imagining our future,” said Christine Kuan, Creative Capital President and Executive Director.

“The selected projects critically and creatively address some of the most pressing issues of our moment, as well as painful historical legacies that continue to shape our present— from abortion, to money laundering in the art world, to the mass graves from the convict leasing program, to the lasting imprint colonization has left on the construct of time zones,” said Aliza Shvarts, Creative Capital Director of Artist Initiatives. “These artists demonstrate, with urgency and power, the many ways creative practice not only engages the world, but endeavors to shape it.”

Since its founding in 1999, Creative Capital has been deeply committed to diversity in all its forms— artistic disciplines, geographic regions, and artist identities. The 2022 awardee cohort comprises more than 90 percent Asian, Black, Indigenous, and Latinx artists of all abilities and genders from their 20s to their 60s. The 50 projects in the visual arts, performing arts, film, literature, socially engaged and multidisciplinary practices were selected from more than 4,000 applications via Creative Capital’s open call, national application process and through multiple rounds of external review culminating discipline-specific panels composed of experts, curators, arts professionals, and past awardees. The artists are affiliated with all regions of the United States and its territories, including Big Sky Country, the Midwest, New York City, NorCal and the Pacific Northwest, North-East, SoCal and Hawaii, South-East, South West, Texarkana, and Puerto Rico.

2022 Creative Capital Awardees
American Artist
Germane Barnes
Black Quantum Futurism (Rasheedah Phillips, Camae Ayewa)
Maura Brewer
Dakota Camacho
Crystal Z Campbell
Etienne Charles
Alexandra Chreiteh
Ilana Coleman & Jamie Gonçalves
Xavier Cortada
Mónica de la Torre
Du Yun
JJJJJerome Ellis
Alia Farid
Teresita Fernández, Bárbaro Martínez-Ruiz, & Ada Ferrer
Deborah Goffe
Clement Hil Goldberg
Graham Haynes
Jasmine Hearn
Randall Horton & Devin B Waldman
Madeleine Hunt-Ehrlich
Brandon Kazen-Maddox
Lucy Kim
Tan Lin
Marina Magalhães
Ramón Miranda Beltrán & Madeline Jiménez Santil
Christopher K. Morgan
Cyrus Moussavi
Cheswayo Mphanza
Mimi Onuoha
Karthik Pandian
Raúl O. Paz-Pastrana
Kameelah Janan Rasheed
The Revolution School (Jennifer Moon, Jessie Closson, Clara Philbrick, Devin Alejandro-Wilder)
Sarah Rosalena
Viva Ruiz
Suneil Sanzgiri
Jacques Schwarz-Bart
Paola Segura Cornelio
Nyugen Smith
Mikaal Sulaiman
Steven Kazuo Takasugi
Sam Tam Ham
Steven Tamayo
Justin Randolph Thompson
Marcos Varela
Edisa Weeks
Pioneer Winter
Pinar Yoldas

2022 Creative Capital Panelists
John Andress – Bill T. Jones Director and Curator of Performing Arts at the Institute of Contemporary Art/Boston
Zach Blas – Artist, filmmaker, writer & 2016 Creative Capital Awardee
Lili Chopra – Executive Director, Artistic Programs at Lower Manhattan Cultural Council
Sara Zia Ebrahimi – Deputy Director at BlackStar
Pia Kishore Agrawal – Executive Director of Staten Island Arts
Halimah Marcus – Executive Director of Electric Literature
Edgar Miramontes – Deputy Executive Director & Curator of REDCAT (Roy and Edna Disney/CalArts Theater)
María Elena Ortiz – Curator at the Pérez Art Museum Miami
Srikanth Reddy – Writer & 2013 Awardee
Kaneza Schaal – Artist & 2016 Awardee
Ira Silverberg – Editor & Consultant
Barry Threw – Executive Director of Gray Area
Jasmine Wahi – Founder + Co-Director of Project for Empty Space
Lynn Xu – Writer

Creative Capital’s programs are made possible by generous donations from our Board of Directors, National Advisory Council, and other individuals, and with major support from founding donor, The Andy Warhol Foundation for the Visual Arts, in addition to Bloomberg Philanthropies, Doris Duke Charitable Foundation, William and Flora Hewlett Foundation, Lambent Foundation, The Scherman Foundation, Skoll Foundation and Surdna Foundation. Creative Capital’s programs are also supported by the National Endowment for the arts and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs, in partnership with the City Council.

Press Contact
Jennifer Liu
Digital Manager, Creative Capital
[email protected]