Award Year

The 2019 Creative Capital Awards represent 50 projects by 58 artists from all over the country. The projects span a range of genres, including literature, performance, the visual arts, moving image, technology, and socially engaged art. Read more about the 2019 Creative Capital Awards and the selection process.

Selection Committee

Heather Dewey-Hagborg – biohacker and visual artist, 2016 Creative Capital Awardee
Kamilah Forbes – President & CEO of Apollo Theater
Alice Gray Stites – Chief Curator of 21c Museum Hotels
Rasu Jilani – Director of Community Engagement and Recruiting at NEW INC, independent curator and social sculptor
Scott Macaulay – Editor of Filmmaker Magazine, and President and Producer of Forensic Films
Jillian Mayer – video artist and filmmaker, co-director of Borscht Corp., 2015 Creative Capital Awardee
Ethan Nosowsky – Editorial Director of Graywolf Press
E. Carmen Ramos – Deputy Chief Curator and Curator of Latino Art at Smithsonian American Art Museum
Sixto Wagan – Director of Center for Art and Social Engagement at University of Houston


Panel Advisor
Kemi Ilesanmi – Executive Director, The Laundromat Project